top of page

My New Home

New year, new place to live.

This adorable welcome mat was such a sweet gift from my aunt, Heather

In December, Jake and I moved out of our favorite little city of Lancaster to the even smaller town of Ephrata.


There were so many positives to living in Lancaster City and we really didn't want to leave. But this charming little Ephrata home popped on the market and it was way too good to pass up.


Some perks and info about the home:

- It was built in 1920. We wanted an older home.

- It cuts both of our work commutes in half!

- The home was completely redone (the walls, the floors, the appliances).

- We don't have to deal with Lancaster Parking Authority, Street Cleaning, and rules of where you can and can't park (I felt like I was getting a ticket every week!)

- We are just a block away from Main Street which has all the cute restaurants, shops, and even a link to the rail trail.



Probably my favorite part about this home is how it is the perfect amount of house for the two of us! It's two bedrooms with a room in the middle separating them, a cozy living room, a spacious kitchen, laundry room, and two bathrooms.


Aside from working within a budget, I knew when we were looking for houses that I didn't want too much to take care of. We both work full time and we aren't planning on having a gigantic family so there is no need for a five bedroom house or a parlor room we'll never use. Also, I DESPISE YARD WORK. So while most people might think a skinny backyard with a tiny portion of grass is undesirable, it is perfect for me!



First Floor


I'm sure we will change up our dining area situation, especially once that Christmas tree finally comes down. But for now, we just have a little table and a bar for entertaining.


I think I want to put some sort of light fixture in place of the tree, but I'm not sure... If you have any suggestions, send them my way!!


As far as everyday use, our little living room is perfect. Jake and I are currently obsessed with Zelda: Breath of the Wild, so we have been spending almost all of our time in the living room.


The kitchen is one of my favorite parts of the house. I haven't ever lived in a house with this many new appliances that actually work (Stove, Microwave, Dishwasher, and Fridge)! I'm telling you, the dishes come out of the dishwasher completely clean!


I've also never had my own garbage disposal, so this is so exciting and way less wasteful. I'm pumped.


The kitchen is a lot bigger than I can show in these pictures. Jake and I would like to add a kitchen island in the near future since this space needs a little something.

It's not quite large enough for a table, but it would feel weird to leave it wide open.


So stay tuned for some future kitchen details and renovations to come.


Also, how freaking adorable is that dala horse cutting board from my mother-in-law?!



Second Floor


The upstairs is like my little sanctuary. The bedroom is light and soft. I believe that your bedroom should be the most tranquil part of your house since sleep and relaxation are such integral parts of your well being and mental health.


I kept the colors tan and white with natural wood colors to complement. I feel that those tones are less stimulating than bold colors and my normal black and white patterns.



The middle room is cool and chill. It has all of my instruments, books, traveling souvenirs, and some gifts from family. Delilah has claimed the middle room as her bedroom lol. When she's not playing with hair ties downstairs, she's sleeping on the yellow couch.


I love how this room turned out! It's a little bit nerd, a little bit hip, and a lot bit Katie B and Jake.




We do have a second bedroom that I'm hoping to fill with a bed...


It feels so empty and unfinished right now though. If you have any suggestions of a color scheme or what to put in this room, let me know!



The Bathroom



I have never in my life understood the appeal of a claw foot tub... I haven't really taken baths since childhood and the idea of sitting in your own filthy water is kind of gross.

But since I've lived here and owned this kind of tub, I have completely changed my mind!


It is so lovely to get a bath ready for myself with some salts and foaming bath. I was given a tray to put over the tub to hold a drink, my phone, and maybe a candle or something. Just that extra step of self care is now one of my favorite ways to decompress after work or just for fun.


As far as the colors, I wanted the same idea as the bedroom: calm and relaxing.

The key again is whites and woods to keep everything simple and clean looking.


________


Thanks for taking a little look into my new home! I will probably constantly be re-decorating and working on some projects to make the house even more personal.


Here's my to-do list:

- Install a kitchen island

- Stain the dining table a darker color

- Assemble the guest bedroom

- Once it get's warmer, design a backyard seating area.


Now on to the more fun things like paying the mortgage, shoveling the sidewalk, and becoming one with the tool box...


-KB



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page