top of page

Mom's Classic Baked Oatmeal

Updated: Jun 14, 2020


You bet I didn't edit myself out of the spoon... aUtHeNtIc

The beauty of this recipe is that you can substitute whatever fruit your heart desires!

This time around I made an apple cinnamon version, but here are some other ideas:

- peaches and cinnamon with some yogurt on the side

- bananas and chocolate chips for a "banana bread" taste

- classic blueberry baked oatmeal with some fresh blueberries and yogurt

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup Melted Butter

1 Cup Brown Sugar

2 Eggs

3 Cups Quick Oats (I used Old Fashioned Oats)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Salt

1 Cup Milk

Recipe:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

2. Mix all ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.

3. Add in whatever fruit (or chocolate chips) you want.

4. Transfer to a non-greased 9x13 baking pan.

5. Bake for 40 min.

This time around, I was going for a more flavorful fall baked oatmeal.

I chopped up two apples and added them to a small pot on medium heat.

Then I added ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, and ground cardamom to the the apples and let it stew together for a while until my house smelled amazing. Then I added it to the mixing bowl and baked it.

I really don't know if there is any science behind this method, but it did smell good and my oatmeal turned out lovely. The only thing I would have changed is adding a more tart green apple for more of a classic apple pie flavor.

Recently, I learned that Cafe One Eight serves their baked oatmeal in a parfait form with fresh fruit on top and yogurt on the bottom.... YUM.

BUT if you want to eat this breakfast like a true Lancaster County resident, you have to make sure it's really hot and then pour a bunch of milk all over it like cereal.

Let me know if that's just Lancaster County or if everyone eats baked oatmeal like that haha!

-KB

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page