top of page

Saturday in Lancaster || 8.25.18

Updated: Jan 6, 2020


This weekend was one of the most perfect weekends in 2018 so far! It was warm, but not too hot or humid. It was so sunny, which is a a blessing after weeks of pouring rains and flooding roads (check out this Lancaster Online article of sheep rescued from a flood last week!)

After prying my sleeping beauty out of bed, we hiked over to the city center to soak up some sun and fill ourselves up with brunch.

I just had to bring Jake to Commonwealth on Queen after I went there for the first time last weekend.

If you've never been there before and you freaking love breakfast foods like I do, YOU HAVE TO GO!

Last time I was there, I had captain crunch french toast! It was the perfect amount of french toast topped with yogurt, captain crunch, and a side of whipped cream and syrup. AKA a sugary breakfast dream.

This bruncherie, on the corner of Queen and Walnut, serves brunch everyday from morning to afternoon. Like many restaurants in Lancaster City, Commonwealth incorporates farm fresh ingredients in their breakfast plates while also providing a relaxed and trendy space to meet for brunch date.

Check out their menu here!

Other perks about Commonwealth on Queen:

1. They use Lancaster County Coffee Roasters, which is a locally sourced and family owned business in Lancaster. As a coffee addict, I can confidently say this coffee is delish!

2. Their employees are so chill and friendly, which sometimes makes or breaks the restaurant experience.

3. Outdoor seating! Perfect for a weekend like this one.

After Commonwealth, we took our food babies across the street to

It's not a hat shop like I speculated... haha! It's more like a Lancaster City gift shop. They have little trinkets and handmade items, but the cutest part of the store has to be the little corner of succulents and plants.

If you are interested, they have a little corner of Lancaster Pride items that are super cool like this shirt.

They also have a little screen print that I really want for my Lanc apartment. It's rainbow colors that drip around the Lancaster City skyline. If only I could show you!

Shops in the city constantly represent Lancaster, but I've never really seen one that also reps Lancaster Pride. The more I see this kind of inclusion, the more it warms my heart that I live in a pocket of Lancaster County that really loves everyone.

The culture of this city is so creative, inclusive, and authentic. I love it!

Finally to top off our Saturday morning, we ended at Central Market for some veggies for the week. Ya know, our normal thing.

The market is booming every weekend, but this weekend in particular really brought everyone out of their houses, apartments, and hotels for shopping and eating.

It's weekends like this one that remind me that I live in a place where I can never be bored. It's awesome to be able to spend time exploring in this beautiful weather with Jake.

Thanks for reading! Hope you had a fun weekend as well!

-KB

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page