top of page

Charleston Date Nights

Updated: Jan 7, 2020


I just want to preface this by saying that Jake and I look for affordable eats over fancy dinners. We only went to one moderately upscale place, but Charleston has more elegant eateries than any other city I've stayed in. I just wanted to show the dinners and places that we really enjoyed on the trip.

Felix is a Parisian inspired bar and restaurant with a casual yet sophisticated atmosphere. The restaurant is on the smaller side, but the natural light and interior design makes Felix one of the most attractive venues we've been to. We visited earlier in the evening, but on many nights the restaurant features a live band.

The reviews of this place are mixed on the internet for different reasons, but I

would say our overall experience was lovely. The only complaint I have is that the food was a little pricey for what I ordered. Some of the foodies critiquing the dishes had more experience with French cuisine than the two of us, but we didn't really know better. To me, good food is good food.

I had the Gnocchi à la Grand-Mèrewith (chicken confit, pâte à choux gnocchi, squash, brussels sprouts, fìnes herbes, brown butter, local honey) and Parisian Martini (Gin, Crème de Cassis, Dry Vermouth). I really did enjoy everything, but I do wish I had more food.

Jake's plate is what I would recommend to e-v-e-r-y-o-n-e! He had the Raclette Burger (double short rib – brisket blended patties, caramelized onion, dijonnaise, raclette, brown’s court sesame bun, house cut pommes frites) and I'm not exaggerating when I say that it was one of the best burgers I've ever had! I wish I ordered that dish, and although it isn't a traditional French plate, that burger is well worth your money! On the side he also had the Alpine Piste (Bourbon, Genepy Des Alpes, Black Tea, Byrrh) cocktail.

Pretty much what I'm saying is that the drinks could be worth a taste, but I can't imagine any plate is better than that Raclette Burger.

After Felix, Jake and I went steps across the street to Jeni's for a little dessert.

Little did we know that Jeni's is voted #1 out of 45 on Trip Advisor for places for dessert in Charleston! The ice cream there is amazing and there are so many delicious flavors.

Jeni's mission is to provide the community with top notch ice cream using whole ingredients and dairy from grass-fed cows. The trend of stepping away from synthetic flavors and ingredients is something to admire in the sweets business.

The atmosphere is cute and casual with string lights twinkling above your head while taste testing all the flavors and being helped by the super friendly staff.

I got a dairy free cold brew with coconut in a waffle cone and Jake got some sort of nectar flavor in a waffle cone. Both flavors were so good and the waffle cones were to die for!

I really appreciate a classic ice cream shop that offers dairy free options for us lactose intolerant folks with a crazy sweet tooth. AND the dairy free options are just as delectable as the regular flavors!

I must admit that I don't prefer seafood dishes and I really don't prefer oysters, which is Pearlz' specialty.

In fact, I would say that I hate oysters... But let me tell ya, Pearlz' fried oyster dinner was some good comfort food.

Jake got the fried oyster dinner, which comes with sweet potato chips and corn fritters, and I got the classic shrimp and grits. If there is one thing Jake and I never eat, it's grits.

The food was so good, but Jake's plate of fried oysters was the winner for us. I could've eaten a hundred of those little oysters, not to mention the yummy powdered corn fritters!

Pearlz has a very cool vibe with an exposed concrete and brick wall that is covered in a Pearlz mural. Of course, Jake and I dine like old farts and had dinner here around 4pm, but I would think this venue is a hip hopping bar late into the night as it features live music and some really good drinks.

I definitely recommend this place to people looking for a reasonably priced seafood meal during their travels. Also, bonus points for playing some of our favorite songs while we were there to make us not feel so old for eating dinner at 4 o'clock!

The most wonderful coincidence of our trip was discovering that Pour Taproom, AKA Charleston's tallest rooftop bar, happened to be connected to the hotel we were staying at.

Pour is relatively new to Charleston and it features over 50 different beers on tap along with wines, ciders, and cocktails. The thing that makes Pour more interesting or appealing than other bars is the style in which they serve the alcohol. It is all self serve and you pay by the ounce via a QR code. There are locally brewed craft beers with sours, ales, seasonal flavors, and fun IPAs.

The vibe of Pour is very chill with an indoor lounge section with hanging plants, couches and tables, and board games to chill with friends. Then there is also an outdoor rooftop section overlooking downtown Charleston where they often have live music.

Pour also has a menu of pub food and snacks to eat while enjoying your beer.

I read a few negative reviews from people who didn't appreciate the self service idea of a bar, but I think there's something really relaxed and freeing to be able to sit wherever you want, do whatever you want, and drink whatever you want with staff around if you need help or have questions. I can't think of too many other places like that.

Pour might be little pricey if you want full glasses of beer, but if you just want to do a taste test and have a low-key night with friends you should give it a try!

Jake and I visited Five Loaves Cafe for lunch one day, because the reviews are out of this world good.

The location is a little more north than some of the other places we visited on our trip, but still it is in a hip little section of Charleston.

The atmosphere of Five Loaves is modest, but not in a negative way. There isn't a gimmick, it isn't fancy, it's just wholesome.

The food is locally sourced, fresh, sustainable, with many vegetarian friendly options. They also have a whole list of vitamin rich juices. This place is all around healthy and delicious!

Jake ordered a potato, cheddar, and broccoli soup and I ordered a classic Reuben. We shared a juice, which I was more inclined to order because Jake was slightly under the weather and needed his vitamins.

Five Loaves is a great space to have a healthy meal and chat with a friend.

Although Jake and I went in the middle of the day, I imagine that their breakfast and brunch (and coffee) is super good too.

I was really excited to write up this post, because if there is one thing I want to remember about a place it's how good the food was!

When people ask me how my vacations are, I always want to tell them about the food first and where my favorite spots were.

Let me know if you've gone to any of these and which places in Charleston are your favorite to eat at.

Thanks for reading!

KB

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page